Pirates Ahoy!

I was so excited yesterday! Helen Hollick promoted me to Second Mate on her blog while she had eyedrops in. I had a lovely time, and she lent me a hat to wear.

image
It was such fun, but she probably should have warned me not to go near the cannon with a candle. I didn’t know it was primed, and it was dark; I just wanted a closer look. Still, I don’t think it’s done much damage, and most of it was above the waterline.
And I truly didn’t know that musket was loaded but it only made a very little hole, and I found chewing gum makes a very good plug.
I’m pretty sure the compass still works – I managed to get most of the coffee out of it! And on the plus side, that little scrape got rid of quite a few barnacles.
I hope Jesamiah Acorne and Tiola like the embroidery I did on the sails when I had a spare moment. It was quite hard climbing up there but you can hardly see where I put my foot through – I mended it quite well.
I really enjoyed the rest of the day – this command business is very stimulating. I’m sure we’ll be able to get the anchor to hold fast before we get too far away. I wonder if I’ll get this job on a permanent basis. Wouldn’t that be fun?

And I must mention the crew, who were quite delightful. They really looked after me and found me a lovely seat, which they put on a long plank, suspended from the side of the ship, so I could sit and watch the dolphins. It was a bit wobbly, but they very kindly fished me out of the drink when it overturned.

Er, yes, so after those exploits, I am a tad nervous to actually meet the owner of the ship, the redoubtable Jesamiah Acorne. By the way, you’ll have to excuse his language – he’s a pirate, you know.

If you’d like to meet Helen’s handsome rogue, click the link below.

P is for Pirate

About Loretta Livingstone

I write, and I want to tell people about my books. That's why I started this blog. It's all very new, so I will probably make mistakes, but - here I am! Blogging!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pirates Ahoy!

Leave a Reply

